back to article I used to be an Oracle DBA ... but now I'm a Big Data guru

As the demand for Oracle skills fades along with VB and as even Java loses its shine, the smart developer is looking at what will pay the bills for the next decade. As an ITpro you have to bet your career every few years and Big Data is too obvious an opportunity to pass up. The problem being that it’s not a single product …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. John Smith 19 Gold badge
    Thumb Up

Have BS, will travel.

Highly entertaining but also informative.

Sadly the dumbos who feel they need this (PHB has been on a conference) will probably hire an agency that will run a keyword search on their CV bank and find the people with the best engineered CV in this area.

Who will probably be some of the least equipped players to actually do it, prompting the first (next?) round of "XXXX's Big Data project goes titsup" headlines.

Let the games begin.

1. Dominic Connor, Quant Headhunter

Re: Have BS, will travel.

It's entirely possible that I've been at the same conference as your PHB (he may mention a loud old headhunter who kept asking questions of the speakers :)

I wish you were more wrong, I asked a good number of people if there were yet any qualifications they'd respect in this field and the response was entirely negative, so it's the standard model of buzzwords and random interview questions.

Happy

Re: Have BS, will travel.

"I wish you were more wrong, I asked a good number of people if there were yet any qualifications they'd respect in this field and the response was entirely negative, so it's the standard model of buzzwords and random interview questions."

Oh that was just my experience of recruitment agency SOP. One of the best recruitment experiences I ever had was on an employer 2nd interview when they put me in a room with a login, a work description, the language manuals and told me they'd be back in 2 hours. It runs. I'm in.