back to article BlackBerry Q10: This quirky QWERTY will keep loyalists perky

Eight million people in the UK use a BlackBerry and almost every single one of those phones has a physical QWERTY keyboard. And as good as the virtual keyboard on BlackBerry's touchscreen Z10 may be - it's the best, for my money - a fair number of people will want to use a smartphone with a real keyboard. The Q10 is BlackBerry's …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ninetailed
    Happy

Not just for loyalists

Personally, I've never used a Blackberry before, but this one is ticking all the boxes for me. I'll want to give it a while to see how well the much-remarked-upon OS bugs are resolved, but if that works out well, I'm going to seriously consider getting a Q10 as my personal phone later in the year. I'm not saying it's a safe bet, but it's certainly likely to find itself on the shortlist come upgrade time.

1. TheVogon
      Mushroom

Re: Not just for loyalists

Well it might hold some value as a white elephant if they don't go bust by then.

Blackberry are in a death spiral. No Eco-System, only one manufacturer of the technology, and becoming increasingly irrelevant in the enterprise.

I can't see them being attractive to enough consumers at ~ £500 a handset to survive. This handset isnt even available until April btw!

1. Daniel B.

Re: Not just for loyalists @TheVogon

They're only becoming "irrelevant" in the enterprise for those who don't have strict security standards. As it is, I know of at least two large financial entities that still rely on Blackberries for work stuff. BYOD isn't as universal as it seems.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Re: Not just for loyalists @TheVogon

There are a number of solutions around Windows Phone being developed for those that require FIPS level security - for instance by Avanard. Windows Phone itself is currently undergoing FIPS certification