back to article Apple rubbishes rumours of iPhone for the masses

Apple has denied that it is considering increasing its market share and beating off competitors with a cheaper iPhone. Rumours went around earlier this week that the fruity firm was getting a cheap mobile ready for market, but marketing chief Phil Schiller told a Chinese newspaper that Apple was doing no such thing. "We are …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. HFoster

I'm no expert, but...

I'm pretty sure market share is at least a small factor in becoming the market leader.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I'm no expert, but...

You can make the best phone without selling the most phones. I'm pretty sure a BMW X5 is a better car than a Ford Kuga but they probably won't sell as many.

1. Mark .

But one is fact, one is opinion. Sure we can debate what the best phone platform is, but that's opinion, and plenty of us Think Different.

And whilst appeal to popularity isn't valid for factual claims, it is informative for opinions, in showing us what people think - in this case, more people think Android is a better OS, or Samsung and even Nokia make better phones.

1. jai

it is informative for opinions

but you're ignoring a vast array of other contributing factors.

if all the phones had the same features and cost the same price and were on the same networks, then, yes, you could say that more people prefer Android. But you need to know the numbers for a statement like that. If 90% of the Android devices sold are sub £200 phones or provided free on contract, then you're statement should be "more people with limited or no disposable income prefer the Android OS"

you can only make sweeping generalisations if all the items you are comparing are on the same level

1. Mark .