back to article Australia ponders patent refresh to restrain trolls

Australia’s patent system will be overhauled to make life harder for cynical abusers of the patent process. The review will focus on 'innovation patents', a type of patent introduced in 2001 to encourage IP protection for SMEs and function to protect “simple inventions and improvements to existing technologies”. Such patents …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Neoc

I don't understand...

"The consultation paper states that the changes have been sought due to government concern over “evergreening”- a strategy in which companies could use innovation patents to effectively extend the life of their patents."

I am not a patents lawyer, so I do not understand how an innovation patent extends the life of an existing patent.

I have patent A, which describes a process.

I have patent B, which describes an improvement to the process in Patent A.

Surely Patent A can expire without invalidating Patent B - in other words, W&D can now use the process described in Patent A so long as they do not use the improvement described in Patent B.

So how the hell does the "improvement" extend the original? Or were the lawyers and politcos complete f*-wits when they drafted the legislation?

1. Combat Wombat
      Boffin

Re: I don't understand...

Evergreening mainly applies to drugs.

You take a complex drug, and patent it.

Then, when your patent is about to expire, you tweak it ever so slightly. Not enough to change the effectiveness of the drug, but just enough to make it appear like a different drug to the patent lawyers.

It keeps the cost of the drug up, and keeps the generic manufacturers out of the market

1. Neoc

Even with your example, I still don't understand how that stops me from using the pre-tweaked drug now that *that* patent has expired.

1. Angus 2