back to article 'Your app will work on Windows 8 - but please rewrite it anyway'

Is Windows so much weighed down by legacy and the need to support existing applications that Microsoft cannot advance its platform? I put this question to Satya Nadella, president of the server and tools business at Microsoft, at the recent Visual Studio 2012 launch in Seattle, Washington. “We’re not afraid to make hard calls …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. JDX Gold badge

Fair comment on not writing tools for non-MS platforms

However you can/used to be able to hook VS up against other compilers and toolchains anyway. I remember using VS 2003 (I think) as our IDE and compiler for Playstation 2 development when I worked in the games industry; presumably you could hook in Android tools and such?

1. Sirius Lee

Re: Fair comment on not writing tools for non-MS platforms

There's nothing to stop you creating a custom extension for msbuild to do whatever you want including cross-compiling. Many times the extension is just an xml definition to call a process to execute a program passing params and grabbing the result. VS uses msbuild (which can also be run independently and is a bit like Ant) to compile C++, C#, VB, etc.

2. Brewster's Angle Grinder Silver badge

Words to sen a chill through your heart:

"Windows-specific HTML 5"

*shudder*

1. Steven Roper
      Facepalm

You got that right mate

There I was all nice and smug thinking we'd finally won the war to get Microsoft in line with the W3C with Internet Explorer, and the stupid bastards take us right back to square fucking one!

1. JDX Gold badge

Re: You got that right mate