back to article Windows 7 passes XP, Mac OS X passes Vista

Two aging Windows operating systems slipped a ranking each in the market share race this August, with Windows 7 overtaking Windows XP as the world's most popular desktop operating system, and Apple's OS X overtaking the late, lamented Windows Vista. This news comes to us from Net Applications' monthly Net Market Share survey, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. nuked
    Facepalm

What amazes me...

... is that 0.03% of sys admins are stark raving lunatics.

1. JDX Gold badge

Re: What amazes me...

I don't remember NT being too terrible (I'm a dev not a sysadmin); what was so bad? Our software ran for weeks of uptime easily which back then seemed pretty good!

1. El Andy

Back in the day, NT4 was pretty good and certainly the most stable version of Windows at the time. But that day was a long, long time ago. It doesn't have any plug-and-play hardware support, security updates didn't apply in a terribly reliable fashion so you'd rarely find a box more patched than the last Service Pack (or excitingly, half "service packed" because someone had installed a printer or looked at a control panel or something else which had conveniently replaced half the patched files with vulnerable originals). And if you go back and actually try to configure the darn thing, it's horrible compared to a modern OS. I guess back in the day we didn't know better!

2. Mage Silver badge
        Alert

NT?

Which one

3.1, 3,5, 3.51, 4.0, 5.0, 5.1, 5.2, 6.0, 6.1 or win 7 which is really approx 6.2

I suspect they mean 4.0, but it should say so

So even though you get Win7 pretty much automatically if you don't buy an overpriced Mac, it's only 0.3% ahead of the 11 year old OS?

written on

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

3. bazza Silver badge
        Thumb Up

@JDX,

"Our software ran for weeks of uptime easily which back then seemed pretty good!"