back to article Alleged 'Xbox 720' dev box eBay'd for $20,100

Would you buy an Xbox 720 development kit for 20 grand? Someone just has - paying in dollars rather than sterling, of course - after the "Microsoft Xbox Durango Development Kit" appeared on eBay last night. Durango Xbox development kit After 43 bids, the non-descript black tower system, said by the seller to contain an Intel …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Z-Eden
    WTF?

Some people have too much money.

1. JDX Gold badge

When I worked as a game developer, official PS2/XBox dev-kits like this went for around £10k IIRC.

1. Annihilator

Worth it?

Depends I guess - some dev companies won't have the opportunity to start exploring the early dev-kit and would value that opportunity at £20K

2. Lee Dowling Silver badge

Is that allowed at all? Seems to me that it would be a cinch for MS/Sony/etc. to put a clause on the software license that it's not to be transferred. And then you end up with a PC with some funny cards in it that don't do anything.

I'd be more suspicious about the legality of this purchase even if it were real, rather than whether the auction actually is real or not.

1. HaydnH

"Is that allowed at all? Seems to me that it would be a cinch for MS/Sony/etc. to put a clause on the software license that it's not to be transferred."

I don't know about the US, but in Europe software can be resold, google "oracle software license resale" for info on a previous failed attempt by Oracle to stop this.

1. Annihilator
            Boffin

@HaydnH

"I don't know about the US, but in Europe software can be resold, google "oracle software license resale" for info on a previous failed attempt by Oracle to stop this."

It's likely that whoever got their hands on this kit from MS had to sign a pretty hefty NDA to get it, so while you're right in that you can re-sell software licences, this won't have been a purchase from MS.

3. jaduncan
        Facepalm

Box: $20k