back to article Review: Samsung Chromebox

Moan, moan, moan: that’s how I suspected this review would come across as I pondered on my initial impressions of Samsung’s Chromebox – its Mac Mini-styled desktop computer that runs Google’s Chrome OS. You know, the online operating system that turns your computer into paperweight when there’s no internet connection. And then I …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

No device that needs 100% Internet, 100% of the time is ever going to work unless you have pre-loaded front end apps that can support Internet outages in the short term.

As a writer I use Google Docs to do a lot of work on the road. When Google is not available all I have on my PC is a 1K shortcut to my doc which does nothing for me.

Put it on the cloud, that is fine, but give me a copy to play with.

1. LarsG
      Facepalm

Why

Why were you so generous in giving this paperweight 45%?

1. Silverburn

Re: Why - @ LarsG

For once I actually agree with Lars...this thing is indeed a paperweight. And the thing with the splash screen arrows pointing to nowhere? This smacks of poor testing, and poor design.Which doesn't bode well for the rest of it...and indeed it was proven to be so.

My opinion: Avoid. 300 quid is better spent elsewhere.

2. emmanuel goldstein

kind of get where they are coming from

ubiquitous wireless internet is not far off.

won't be rushing to buy on the strength of the review, however. I don't understand why this thing exists.

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Google have some Offline capability

It is possible to view Documents & Calendar offline. Fairly sure I edited a Calendar offline when I was toying with this stuff. Some of this is still in Beta & clearly it's a moving target. Adding USB Drives etc to a Chromebox/Chromebook must give additional offline capability. Anyway these are all things I'll be trying once I get a Chromebox.

2. Anonymous Coward