back to article For FORK'S sake: GitHub checks out Windows client

Just two years ago, Git barely eked out a mention in Forrester's analysis of the software configuration management (or source code management) market, despite a clear trend toward open-source SCM tools. Now Git owns 27.6 per cent of the SCM market, according to a recent Eclipse Foundation survey, with Subversion apparently in …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. JDX Gold badge

TortoiseGit? msysgit?

I am a newbie to git (and don't really like it) on Windows but both these existing tools have been invaluable for simple use against github, meaning I can get on with my work.

So saying there wasn't a GUI client before seems misleading. Unless they mean specifically a GUI app to configure things rather than work against a repo?

2. Matt 21

Feeling a little jaded

but.... I've never seen serious problems in a project due to the source control tool. Even sccs does the job. The problem always comes from people not using the tool and not following any kind of change control process so source control becomes "whatever we find in production".

1. Kubla Cant
      Thumb Down

Re: Feeling a little jaded

"I've never seen serious problems in a project due to the source control tool"

Try working with Visual SourceSafe. Your experience will be widened, not in a good way.

2. BlueGreen

Re: Feeling a little jaded (@Matt 21)

IME a problem is that many supposed developers aren't aware of version control and often dismissive of it if they do.

However tool users can be even dumber than you can imagine. One workplace I took over a project and due to some remarkable competence of a consultant, we were using a VCS (unfortunately it was Visual SourceSafe, q.v. Kubla Cant's perspective). But I found the original owner of the project had decided to check in not only the code for a data conversion project, but the data for that project. A database of several gigs' size. From another continent too.