back to article Hackers expose 6.5 MILLION 'LinkedIn passwords'

LinkedIn has said it is looking into a file that reportedly contains the mildly obscured passwords of around 6.5 million of its users. A list containing the SHA1 hashed but unsalted passwords, purportedly of users of the business social network, has been posted on a Russian Dropbox-alike website. Some LinkedIn users have …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Androgynous Cupboard Silver badge

For fucks sake

Can I put forward the motion that anyone caught not salting their passwords in the 21st century be put against a wall and shot?

1. easyk

I'm all for overreacting with extreme violence…

that is all I wanted to say. Proceed.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Ok

So when will people learn not to join thisnetworking site, which they only join to fluff up their own egos by faking half the stuff they say they have done!

1. JibberJabberBadger
        Flame

Re: Ok

as a freelance consultant, I've got quite a lot of work through connections made on linkedin... so I use it to fluff my bank balance and reduce my mortgage. Go back to playing Gears of War or whatever it is you do when your not fiddling/trolling....

3. Joe Montana
      Linux

Re: For fucks sake

You mean like every windows user in the world?

MS still didn't implement a salted hash in windows, and to make matters worse you don't even need to crack the pass (google for "pass the hash")...

4. Alan W. Rateliff, II
      Paris Hilton

Re: For fucks sake

I'm just happy to know they are hashing the passwords and not storing them as plain text as has been the case in a number of other leaks.

Paris, a number of leaks.

2. McVirtual
    WTF?

REverse Hash

Don't you need some sort of tool to decipher the passwords in their current state anyway?

It's not like Joe Public could just open a text file and find out ?

1. Aaron Em

Re: REverse Hash