back to article UK music-rights collection: Where does all the money go?

The organisation that represents and pays out money to 90,000 songwriters and composers in the UK disclosed cost-cutting measures and explained new investment at its AGM last Thursday. The Performing Right Society, the PRS*, has a public sector-style (if not -scale) pension problem, in that future liabilities exceed current …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

And the whole point of this article was...

The bootnote.

Which was brilliant!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Don't you just love how the songwriters and composers let the people "looking after their interests" continually dump on them.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I'm a composer, and make 90% of my income from royalties from production music (music, often written for libraries used in TV adverts and documentaries).

Your comment made me angry, as I don't love how composers are continuously dumped on by people who purport to look after their interests. However there is a lot of truth in it. Composers have failed to unionise in the same way as some other creative industries, and have also slit their own throats by chasing short term advantage over collective security, and by using pirated software. The advantage the latter gave to some composers in allowing them able to produce work at low rates (due to lower expenditure) has come back to bite us - our employers now expect everything to be done to a commercial standard either very cheaply or for free. Music libraries and commissioning TV companies now very rarely pay production costs, which can be very high. One big library makes composers use their own studio and facilities, then charges them a large amount for the privilege (the composers are not allowed to see a breakdown of costs of course). Making a fuss about any of this doesn’t usually do your career a lot of good.