back to article 'Wii workout' for overweight pupils plan slammed

Any students hoping to go for a Wii during lesson time will have to hold it for now. A campaign group claims that a scheme suggested by the UK Department of Health (DoH) to introduce the console into classrooms is simply a gimmick. The DoH is backing the trial introduction of Wiis into four Worcestershire high schools, in a …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Charlie

Hmm

As a university student I would take umbrage to the suggestion that we're all lazy, but frankly I can't be arsed.

2. Matt

Games

Half the problem seems to be that PE teachers keep trying to get people to practice irrelevant bits of skill rather than just play the game.

There should be a choice so that those who want to play more seriously can be taught accordingly and the rest can spend more time playing the games.

3. Sean Aaron

This is a lame idea...

Of course if schools hadn't sold off their P.E. grounds in the 80s this might not be regarded seriously...

4. Richard Large

He's clearly never been to school recently

What about those who don't like doing "proprt" sports? The ones who get laughed at whenever they try by pupils and staff alike. The ones who have their morale destroyed because they're a bit overweight or not very good.

At least the Wii gets them up and moving, gets them interested. You never know, a kid who's good at Wii tennis might just develop a passion for the real thing. I would suggest that Mr Seaton try encouraging these kids instead of forcing them in to, effectivly, psychological torture.

5. Anonymous Coward
    Stop

FFS!

I hate all this stupid "a computer in every classroom" nonsense. You don't need a computer to learn stuff - that's been true from the year dot until about 1996 (then we entered the grey period).