back to article German education minister accused of copying in class

Yet another German politician has fallen victim to the increasingly common accusation of academic plagiarism. The German Education and Research Minister Annette Schavan has been accused of plagiarising parts of her research in the PhD thesis she wrote in 1980. The claims were made by an anonymous website – Schavanplag – set up …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"Person and Conscience: Studies on conditions, need and requirements of today's consciences"

Sounds like bs even if it wasn't plagiarism.

2. disgruntled yank

cut-and-paste

Is there a reason that the 7th paragraph lightly rephrases the 3rd?

What Ms. Schavan needs is for the Delaware Supreme Court to absolve her.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Their own fault

Germany idealises PhDs, which is a mistake. I did a biosciences degree and have friends doing them now-they take real, total commitment. (I was told when I was thinking of applying by an academic at York that a 60-hour working week was what he considered sensible-not what he would make you to do, but what he thought you needed to do to produce quality work.) So the result is politicians who got PhDs because they wanted to have letters to go with their name not because they found their subject interesting, and took short cuts.

There's a saying that when you make something a target it stops being a measure of value. That's true here. To be fair Merkel's was in chemistry, so she should be fine.

1. Rampant Spaniel

Re: Their own fault