back to article Adonit Jot Flip precision tablet stylus

"If you see a stylus, they blew it," Steve Jobs famously said. He was referring to the fact that the iPad’s multi-touch display and UI is designed to be used with fingers rather than an input device and that, in his view, a stylus is superfluous. That may be true for the bulk of tablet apps, but there’s no doubt that for those …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. jai

recommended

I have the Jot Pro and it's a brilliant stylus. Perfect for any apps that you either want to jot notes in, or for those that provide handwriting recognition.

I'm no artist, so can't comment how this fairs in the paint apps compared to some of the ones with thicker tips. But for writing, it's perfect.

1. Neil Brown

Re: recommended

Jai — how robust is it? It looks a little delicate, and I'd be fearful of putting it in a bag or a pocket — does it come with a cap, or is it tougher than it looks?

1. Gordon 10
        Thumb Up

Re: recommended

I have a Pro too. It comes with a Alu machined screw top cap. Mine tended to come undone on its own after a week or so boucing around under my iPad or laptop in the bottom of my bag.

The Pro includes a magnet that sticks to Smart Covers and the internal ipad magnets - good for meeting room posing.

The little plastic crosshairs are replaceable from Ebay or Adonit directly. Note that the pen doesnt work without the plastic bit.

Waiting for the Jot Touch with pressure sensitivity.

Also waiting for the Adonit Writer 2 Plus Keyboard but thats another story.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Resolution?

Having done a bit of work on touch screen inputs before, I wonder about the resolution of the screens. Generally, capacitive screens don't have the spatial resolution that resistive screens have, so while this may "work" in that it may trigger the screen, is the screen really going to have enough resolution to do handwriting recognition?