back to article Ten... Kitchen Gadget Treats

Reg Hardware Gizmo Week logo small Most of us actually have more gadgets in the kitchen than anywhere else in the house. And looking at the list here, it’s easy to see why. There are gizmos for every conceivable task, from opening a tin of beans to knocking up a homemade Scotch broth. Most of the gizmos here are genuinely …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. 2metoo
    Facepalm

Engraved handle on a kitchen knife...

"look at me - I'm a chef". Strangely, chef was not the word that sprung to mind when I read that.

1. Steven Raith
      Thumb Up

Re: Engraved handle on a kitchen knife...

The word, however, does start with 'C'.

Steven R

2. Code Monkey

That knife is one of the two things on that list I'd consider making space for and I've no illusions about being a "proper" chef (let alone Heston, whose food is pretentious beyond belief IMO).

The other's the pasta maker.

1. mr-tom
        Happy

I have some of the knives for sushi making.

(No, I didn't get them engraved)

They are absolutely amazing. Did the apple test the day I got them - dropping an apple from 12 inches onto an outstretched blade. It went straight through. Needless to say, it was my best toy since I got rid of my lego.

1. handle

I'm sure a lot of cheap knives will pass the "apple test" on the day you buy them - it's how long they remain sharp that is what matters.

1. stu 4
            Holmes

knifes do not 'stay sharp'. that is the common misconception that leads people to buy expensive knifes - usually japanese as they keep their edge a bit longer (see below).

the best thing you will every buy for the kitchen is a steel bar. Use it after EVERY TIME you use the knife.

yup - not once a year. or once every now and then. EVERY TIME. EVERY DAY.

I have a nice 10" from ikea. cost a tenner. cuts through anything like butter. had it for 2 years and use it everyday (with the steel bar).