back to article Nokia, Microsoft bung student mobe devs £7.5m to 'ideate'

Nokia and Microsoft are pumping €9m (£7.5m) into a university to promote app development and startups that'll feed their mobile tech alliance. Finland's Aalto University will receive the cash to fund a new software development programme called AppCampus over the next three years, the companies said Monday. The scheme aims to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Simbu
    Thumb Up

Good idea

Microsoft get an injection of content onto the Marketplace, and developers get (rightly) rewarded for their work.

I await the Apple / Android drones crying over 'bribery'. Because Apple and Google never financially incentivise developers...

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Good idea

Not sure if serious. But as an iOS dev, I can say that apple incentivise me plenty with a nice chunk of cash each month.

The difference: my rewards come from customers who appreciate my work enough to pay for it, rather than a company giving me cash in the hope something will happen because there aren't enough paying customers there to make it commercially viable.

Still, MS and Nokia are in a tough spot: customers aren't interested in the platform without the support of plenty of good apps, devs aren't making plenty of good apps without plenty of paying customers. You can argue all day about whether it's the chicken or the egg, but if you've got neither your plate is staying empty.

Good luck to them, if they're extremely lucky they'll hit gold and the whole platform will benefit (and so will everyone else if there's a competitive 3rd platform), and the students can learn plenty and ride the gravy train for a while.

Wait, hold on... did I see symbian mentioned there? Who the hell would write for symbian now?! Retro fans?

1. Jess

> Wait, hold on... did I see symbian mentioned there? Who the hell would write for symbian now?! Retro fans?