Oracle - love or hate?

This topic was created by Drewc .

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Oracle - love or hate?

Says anonymous coward: Why does everyone hate Oracle so much?. Well? Does everyone? Any love out there?

1. maintenance
      Thumb Down

Re: Oracle - love or hate?

Oracle love this is very good DB for security of data base.

2. 321
      Thumb Up

Re: Oracle - love or hate?

No doubt, We all love oracle.

2. bertino

Never mind that!

Why no hardware forum?

ps, I hate Oracle, Apple and Microsoft almost equally. No, scratch that, as it stands

Apple

Microsoft

Oracle

On that scale.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Never mind that!

what about google?

3. JDX Gold badge

As a developer I like PL/SQL and I find Oracle much nicer than MySQL... but possibly because I learned it first.

Hating software companies is pretty childish.

1. Kubla Cant

I like PL/SQL

Especially after I used the vile T-SQL thing on Sybase.

Actually, I quite like Oracle - not as a company but as a corpus of software. Of course it can drive you up the wall - but that's what software's for, isn't it?

4. dogged

Oracle really does do everything it can to make itself a complete pain in the arse if you're not wholly bought into the Oracle experience on RHEL.

Try using the .NET provider for Oracle sometime. Hell, try just installing it. Good luck iof you think Java is insecure and buggy! And then you have to dick around for an hour or so with TNSNAMES to try to make it actually work.

Once it's working, it's fine. But every time I have to go to a new site and set up to code against Oracle, I consider walking straight back out again.

1. maintenance

Oracle is a db server in which the client and server transmitting of the data with a authorization manner .it i be very secure data .

5. Dominic Connor, Quant Headhunter

Because they shaft people