back to article LOHAN to straddle meaty titanium rod

After much head-scratching, and a good number of beermat sketches, we're finally ready to unveil our concept for the Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator (LOHAN) Vulture 2 launch platform. Click here for a bigger version of the LOHAN graphic To recap, we've been pondering just how to attach our spaceplane to the carbon-fibre …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

The Vulture 2 will simply slide off the rod

Yes because two objects in free fall always repel each other.. its that well known scientific principle of illogicum.

(PS parachutes and drogues have negligible effect until the atmosphere thickens up)

1. Bill Neal
      Thumb Up

Re: The Vulture 2 will simply slide off the rod

Agreed. I see no need to counter-balance the electronics package. Love the design though! seems solid enough

2. Pen-y-gors

I am not an engineer...

Will there be any effect on the position of the launch platform from the force of the exhaust hitting the plate behind it? Will it not make the support spin/tilt?

1. Arrrggghh-otron

Re: I am not an engineer...

I was wondering that, and was considering the use of ducting to capture and direct some of the exhaust gas to act as stabilizing thrusters for the truss when I realised the idea was probably unnecessarily complex plus it's a Friday afternoon and I just couldn't be bothered with that thinking malarkey that is reserved the less fun parts of the week

1. Lester Haines (Written by Reg staff) Gold badge

Re: Re: I am not an engineer...

Agreed. Get back to me on your plan when you're feeling less fun-filled.

2. Graham Bartlett