back to article MS stops hacked hardware accessing Xbox Live

Microsoft has begun booting owners of modified-firmware Xbox 360 games consoles off of its Xbox Live online service, an array of postings on fan forums have revealed. Microsoft's message to Xbox 360 hackers Microsoft's message to Xbox 360 hackers who log on to Xbox Live The move appears to centre on users who've patched …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Julian Cook

At last common sense

I welcome this whole heartily, why users should have to put up with a bunch of freeloaders. I had got stung from this before when I sold my old XBOX with out removing my XBOX live account, a very bad mistake the next owner then proceeded to use my account. When the 360 came out and I started playing Halo I found that I was banned because of this cheat. I say kick them all off

2. Kjetil

Not just hacked hardware

http://majornelson.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!FAB4B8088A70F52!590.entry

According to the comments there, several people have had their 'clean' xbox 360's banned too. Almost looks like the screening software looking for modified consoles are made by the same programmer(s) that made WGA, and surely (as the US Army can testify) noone was falsely accused of having pirated windows copies

3. Andy

ha ha

legit backup copies my arse.. whats that i can smell *snif snif*

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Innocent Users?

Hi There,

What about the innocent users that have been banned the forums are full of people who have been banned and their consoles are not modified.

one live user works for Game and has a second hand console from the shop he works. He states Game follow checks provided by MS to spot modded consoles and all his seals are intact. So why is he banned?

What about all the people who bought a second hand console that had been modded and they have no knowledge of its status?