back to article RIM's apps revolution swings on Blackberry 10

"I'm a Java developer. What can I do to bring my apps over to BlackBerry 10?" asks an attendee at BlackBerry Devcon Europe in Amsterdam this week. The answer comes back: "Rewrite your code." The exchange illustrates how deeply RIM is changing its mobile platform: from the Java-based BlackBerry OS used in current smartphones to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

mobile OS? just one.

This is a purely practical response to the developer question;- 1

The reason is that clients dont want to pay 3 times for their app to be on all devices (iOS, Android, Blackberry).

As an app developer doing native iOS and Android, the thing i keep my eye on the most is the cross-platform tools;- Air/Flex, Appcelerator, PhoneGap etc.

Its simple economics, but if i had to choose one, it would be Android. Apple are like King Canute in their arrogance and blackberry is a nice to have for clients, but its to support existing users, new users are going to iPhone and Android, not blackberry.

1. Graham Dawson Silver badge

Canute wasn't trying to hold back the tide, he was trying to prove to his councillors and people that he *couldn't* hold back the tide. They wanted to declare him divine, he didn't want to be a god so he sat on the beach and let the water come past him as proof that he couldn't hold it back.

It annoys me when people get it wrong. I can understand why people get it wrong (it's such a great metaphor that I can even forgive it sometimes) but it annoys me, nonetheless.

1. Kristian Walsh Silver badge

How dare you...

... bring facts into a discussion thread!

...I never knew that about the old Canute story, though. Have a thumb-sticking-up-gesture :)

2. Nate Amsden

late 2012

Didn't RIM already say Blackberry 10 for phones would be coming late 2012?

http://features.techworld.com/mobile-wireless/3336591/five-big-blackberry-announcements-look-forward/