back to article Nuclear Mars tank prepares for 8-thruster dance

The Mars Science Laboratory, the "nuclear-powered robot laser tank" carrying NASA's shiny new rover, Curiosity, is due to fire its engine in two days' time for the biggest manoeuvre on its trip to the Red Planet. Artist's concept of MSL during cruise phase Artist's concept of MSL during cruise phase. Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Flocke Kroes Silver badge

Send in the cryptoendoliths

Instead of sterilising our martian invasion scouts, why not send in some plants that might survive there. A million years later, there could be a measurable amount of oxygen in the martian atmosphere.

1. AdamT
      Happy

Ah, the Prime Directive really gets in the way doesn't it?

1. AdamT

Ah, wait, we just sent them a "nuclear powered laser tank". Hmmmm.

1. Sceptic Tank Silver badge
          Paris Hilton

@AdamT

I'm no scientist type man, but with the atmosphere on Mars being paper thin and all, the whole place is probably as radioactive as Chernobyl after the last set of experiments. Anything living there will be so used to harsh radiation already that a nuke falling from the sky will look like a gift from the gods.

2. Scogar

Well, they have already done that with a few of the other landers... oops, it seems mariner 10 did not get a decon treatment at all. If there were anaerobic bacteria on Mariner 10, then undoubtedly they are multiplying and flourishing in an unchallenged environment (beneath the rocks, the harsh ultraviolet and assorted other radiation will pretty much sterilize anything exposed to the sun)

1. ridley

Mariner 10 did not land on any planet. It flew past Venus and Mercury. So I doubt it left any bugs there.

2. The Man Who Fell To Earth Silver badge
    Alien

They didn't sterilize it very well. I'm using it to hitch a ride back home.

1. Evil Auditor Silver badge

@the fallen

By any chance, is A Man From Mars with you? One can only hope ;-)