back to article The BBC Micro turns 30

The BBC Micro – the machine which, along with the Sinclair ZX Spectrum, epitomised the British home computer boom of the early 1980s – was launched 30 years ago tomorrow. Unveiled on 1 December 1981 as the Model A and Model B, the BBC Micro would go on to sell over 1.5 million units before the last of the line was discontinued …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. CaptSmegHead
    Thumb Up

My first computer

Spent many hours playing this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2U7JzK2D6ZA

1. phuzz Silver badge
      Thumb Up

When I was about 5 or 6 my dad brought one home from the school he worked at during the holidays. That was the first time I'd been able to get my hands on a computer. 25 years later I work in IT support. T'would be redundant to point out the link.

2. bigphil9009
    IT Angle

Atom, SoC, CPU, it's like they invented all the names and acronyms too :-)

3. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

Ahh yes....

Typing in code from a book instead of this ridiculous fad of downloading compiled code...

Saving to ordinary cassettes...

Playing gibberish in your cassette player...

Fun...

1. Scott Broukell
      Thumb Up

Typing in code from a book / Cassette player

I was learned to write code out long-hand in an exercise book, then debug it long-hand, then sit down at a golf-ball terminal (no screen - what are they?) and diligently type it in, before saving it out to punch tape (sometimes cards if we were lucky), and we had to do that 28 hours a day and sleep in a box int' middle o road :-)

But I know what you mean. These little miniature acorn things were such fun!

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Electron?

I knew a whole two people with a Beeb, about 20 - 30 of us with Speccies and even an Oric user.

But never once heard of anyone wanting a an Electron; a Spectrum 128 / QL, C64's yes but an Electron?