back to article Mars probe crippled by buggy SSD successfully jury-rigged

A space probe in orbit above Mars, crippled by a fault in its solid-state memory, has been brought back on line and is now once again handling scientific data. The Mars Express spacecraft, which has been orbiting the Red Planet since 2003, has been suffering problems since August in which it has repeatedly gone into "safe mode …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Z-Eden
    Thumb Up

Sir, we reconfigured the memory arrays

Excellent stuff

1. ~mico
      Go

Now, bring the sensors back online.

Good job, chief.

1. James Hughes 1

But remember

"You canna change the laws of Physics."

1. Marcus Aurelius
          Happy

Not forgetting

Make it so, Number One.

2. Darryl

Dammit Jim

I'm a doctor, not a BOFH

2. Andy Farley
    Thumb Up

Fixing IT problems IS boring.

But fixing spacecraft rocks.

You go Interplanetary BOFHs.

3. amanfromMars 1 Silver badge
    Big Brother

At last, ESA universal leadership .... Bravo. And now, for something completely different* ...

How very convenient and perfectly timed for out of this world communications traffic in these oddest of future days.

* Pinging AIVD/MIVD re CyberIntelAIgent Security and Intelligent Information Delivery Systems fax/copy/missive from Schiphol Base 1st September 2011

If you would just humour this post, El Reg, and give it some breathing space on this thread, as it is beta testing some extremely sophisticated IP which has been gifted and is for gifting to any and all who are into SMART Future Virtual Reality Systems for Alternate Reality Gaming Systems of Operation, AI Command and Cyber Control.

You surely know you are right at the front of the queue for insider scoop information on rapidly unfolding and virtually classified developments, which put the likes of a Big Brother into the shade.

1. Jaymax
      Alien

It's file Jim

... but not as we know it.

4. Paul RND*1000
    Thumb Up