back to article Microsoft whips Apple with global Xbox TV deals

If the Xbox Live network was a cable operator it would be the largest such operator in the world, with 35 million customers, which is why Microsoft is turning the Xbox into an over-the-top TV delivery device – something it has dreamed of ever since it first made the Xbox one of its IPTV Mediaroom set-tops. Redmond announced …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Tom 38
    Thumb Up

"""Apple and others have tried to do is work with content creators, but against existing content operators"""

Precisely, and its an utter fail. The kind of person who would buy an AppleTV (or a gTV for that matter) is going to want it instead of a STB, not as an additional one. Imagine a Sky box/AppleTV combo - or for that matter a 'Freeview' version.

I've been predicting the homebrew PVR to go mainstream for several years, perhaps this year will be when this actually happens.

1. Zy7ygy

I would buy an Apple TV because of everything else it can do - act has a Wireless Bridge for my speakers, hub for connectivity, Media Centre and all for £99.

Xbox? You are looking at £150 minimum for a DVD player.

The best combination at the moment is Apple & PS3 - you have the games you want, Blu Ray and quality which just works.

Fact.

1. Ru
        Trollface

"quality which just works"

Obvious troll is obvious.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Hooray!

I'm looking forward to tuning into cable and seeing a blue screen of death!

1. Alexandre Strube

I have a picture of a Xbox experiencing a BSOD at the latest gamescom in Germany.

2. kain preacher

Pssst

I hate to break it to you but if you are using U-verse TV then you are using MS.

3. guvna
    Thumb Up

BBC - UK?

Well, if Iplayer is finally coming to xbox, then I for one will be one happy customer.

On the Wii, the quality is awful. I'd certainly be interested to know if they plan on using the HD streaming that you currently get with the pc version.