back to article Gravity wave detector gets more sensitive

One characteristic of quantum physics is being used to defeat another, with the aim of making more sensitive gravity wave detectors, in an international project with contributions from the University of Western Australia, the Australian National University, and the GEO600 Gravitational Wave Observatory in Germany. A problem …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. DB_lanky
    Thumb Up

Shameless plug

Good to see the reg talking about gravitational waves! I'm a PhD student at University of Birmingham working in the field, check out our page http://gwoptics.org. We're slowly building up a simple ebook on it and a bunch of applet for people to play with and get a better understanding of it all.

2. Meph
    Thumb Up

You Sir

Are a scholar amongst gentlemen. I have a shaky grasp of quantum mechanics at the best of times (being no more than a turbo-nerd and armchair enthusiast of science), but I think I actually understood it the way you explained it.

I doubt I would have had so easy a time understanding it straight from the minds of the men working on it.

1. Hungry Sean
      Linux

here here

This article should be mandatory reading for science journalists-- it clearly explains a very complicated phenomenon in lay terms, while being honest and humble about the limitations of such an approach. I feel both informed about the research and about the degree of my understanding.

Tux, because there is no heart icon anymore. More of this, please, El Reg.

3. Pete 43
    Trollface

Bleeding obvious

They just need some Heisenberg compensators

1. Francis Boyle Silver badge

To paraphrase Star Trek IV

How do you know they haven't just invented them.

4. Graham Marsden
    Happy

As Richard Feynman said...

"If you think you understand quantum mechanics, you don't"

5. Francis Vaughan
    Headmaster

Nit pick

"inability to perfectly measure velocity and direction at the same time"