back to article Retailers: Xbox 360 to win next-gen console war

Retailers think the Xbox 360 is most likely to win the next generation console war, but they're still pi**ed with the ongoing Wii shortage, according to a survey. The poll, which questioned 100 independent videogames shops and was commissioned by trade paper MCV, found that 49 per cent of retailers believe Microsoft’s Xbox 360 …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Chad H.
    Flame

More proof, if any was required

That games Retailers know crap about the industry they claim to be in "Oh, it wont win the console war, I mean, have you seen any on the shelves... No? Must be noone wants one..."

2. Matthew LaShure
    Boffin

Pushing factors

While I would personally agree and hope for the Xbox 360 to win the console wars, I don't think that games alone will decide there fate. Microsoft while making the Xbox 360 went with a backwards compatabile strategy and HD availability. Sony on the otherhand went for a bold move that has been tried before.. Blue Ray. For some reason, every time I think of Blue Ray, BetaMax enters my mind. IF the Blue Ray tech manages to suprise everyone and beat out HD DVD, Sony will have a good shot at staying in the game. But if it doesn't... can we hope that sonys reign of terror is at an end?

I know comparing Sony and Microsoft is like comparing satan and the devil, but atleast MS went with full backwards compatability. Can we say the same for sony? Especially when looking at there most recent budget version of the PS3....

3. Rosco

Maybe I'm cynical but ...

It seems to me that the XBox 360 is aimed at a the market segment most likely to represent people who work in videogame shops. Accordingly, they're the people most likely to say that since they believe the XBox is the best console, it will win the console competition.

4. James
    IT Angle

100 retailers