back to article Suspects in PayPal web attack not so anonymous after all

Some of the suspects accused of participating in a December attack organized by the Anonymous hacker collective that caused numerous service disruptions on PayPal were shocked to learn that the net isn't all that anonymous, or that it's illegal to impair other people's computers. According to The New York Times, some of the 14 …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Peter2 Silver badge

My heart bleeds.

See title.

1. Steve Knox
      Coat

Really? If so...

See a cardiologist.

2. J 3
    Facepalm

Didn't know?

Hm... hard to believe that a 26 year-old programmer (even is self taught) wouldn't have an idea that DDoS was somewhat illegal. If the guy was 14, I might believe he didn't know.

Now, the guy who just downloaded the attack software should be left alone -- unless he used the software in an attack, of course. Or is police now going to persecute people based on what they read or download? Oh, wait...

1. Thomas Davie
      Mushroom

I don't know

I've met a lot of programmers who have a weird "if it's beneficial to me, screw them" version of morality that really conflicts with the way our law works. I can imagine this is just the sort of thing they might think is legal.

1. Naughtyhorse
        FAIL

version of morality that really conflicts with the way our law works

cool

where do you live?

sounds like a great place, i'd like to live there!

hang on...

3. LaeMing
    Flame

While I have little sympathy for the people involved in this

It is rather telling that when you mess with a financial institution's money supply you get up to 15 years, but when a financial institution messes witth our money they get a publicly-funded bail-out with a managerial bonus on top.

1. tuna 1
      Thumb Up

Don't Forget....

When they chronically nick their customers' monthly bills they get no retribution and pure PROFIT!

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward