back to article Euro beaks to rule if TVCatchup.com is legal

The UK High Court is to ask the European Court of Justice (ECJ) if streaming live TV programmes over the internet is an act subject to copyright laws after provisionally ruling that it is. Mr Justice Floyd said that TVCatchup did communicate to the public when it streamed programmes broadcast by ITV, Channel 4 and Channel Five …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    WTF?

Shooting themselves in the foot

I don't see what all the fuss is over, I pay my TV license even though there's no aerial connected to my television, I only watch TV online because it's _more practical_ to do so (granted it's usually via iPlayer or the like).

I use TVCatchup rarely but I do need it, I'm a network administrator responsible for a series of web-servers for a few prime-time TV shows, when I'm in the datacenter monitoring servers late at night, there's no television in there to see whats going on, I'm wholly reliant on online services and this is where TVCatchup comes into its own.

The legal eagles are squabbling about whether TVCatchup is legal, it's only offering what is already made freely available (providing you have a TV license) to the public via an alternative medium. TV networks have to realise that people watching TV via an aerial is a 20th century concept and we're now in a digital age where broadband Internet is available practically anywhere, they need to adapt and serve this new age.

TVCatchup is helping them reach further audiences without it costing them a penny, they really shouldn't shoot themselves in the foot by trying to do away with it.

2. Devon_Custard

Good Service, cant see the problem