back to article Whitehall fraud pilots save £12m

The Cabinet Office says data-matching has helped its anti-fraud initiatives to stem huge losses from government funds. The government has said that three pilot projects aimed at tackling the £21bn lost each year through fraud and error have delivered £12m worth of savings in their first few months. According to an interim …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Tony Barnes

Ridiculous really

Do any corporations put up with these kind of 'mistakes' for any period at all?

Its a tough one, in one sense they should obviously be applauded for making these 'savings' - on the other, they should all be sacked for letting the problems exist in the first place!

2. SuperTim

How do they calculate the original £21bn figure?

Can they not use that to determine where the fraud is? I am no legal expert but I was under the impression that fraud is a crime and that there is not limit on how long we take to look into and charge the perps (long arm of the law and such).

Can we have a symbol for government incompetence?

1. Oliver Mayes

"Can we have a symbol for government incompetence?"

We've already got one, it's called Parliament.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

£21bn?

Speechless.

4. Tom Wood
    WTF?

Not a very big dent

"The government has said that three pilot projects aimed at tackling the £21bn lost each year through fraud and error have delivered £12m worth of savings in their first few months

Applying these techniques across all departments could identify and recover £264m on just one year of spending, it believes."

It's obviously better than no savings, but a possible £264m out of a total £21,000m of fraud? That's a small dent in a massive problem. £21bn fraud each year?! That's a staggering £350 per head of population!

Would you put up with that level of error in any other spending?

5. Magnus_Pym

Where does the £21bn figure come from?