back to article Antimatter hangs around at CERN

Scientists at CERN have published the results of experiments in which they captured anti-hydrogen particles for 1,000 seconds before annihilation. Their work, published in Nature Physics, should yield a better basis for comparing the behaviour of ordinary matter with antimatter. The scientists say the lifetime of the particles …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Long Fei
    Mushroom

Anahilated.

So if an anti and a (plus) meet they are zapped, does this mean they vanish? Where to they go if so? Or are they converted to energy?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Mushroom

re. Annihilated

They are completely converted to energy:

E = mc^2

So all the mass is turned into energy (like Einstein said).

2. Sean O'Connor 1

Title

I'm not an expert on this but my understanding is that as mass is just energy the mass/energy of the two particles gets converted randomly into other particles and photons. And the more energy that there is, the more exotic the resulting particles can be.

3. Uncle Slacky Silver badge
      Boffin

They are converted to...

...energy, in this case high-energy (gamma) photons, if memory serves.

4. Danny 14

yup

hypothesised a 100% conversion of matter to energy. Noone knows exactly hence the experiments.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Mushroom

Agree with others..

...but the amount of energy is meant to be way higher than conventional fission/fusion reaction, assuming like-for-like mass (and anti-mass)...

<--- which means we need a much bigger one of these.

1. Dr. Mouse

IIRC

One theory is that an anti-proton is actually a proton travelling backwards through time. When the two collide, it is actually the proton being "reflected" in the time dimension by collision with a photon, so it looks like the 2 are converted to photons.

I didn't read too much about it, so the details are fuzzy... and this was only one theory about them.

2. Thomas_Kent
        Headmaster