back to article My Tracks travel tracker

My Tracks is a GPS tracker app and a must-have for any Android user who wants to record where they have been, how fast they got there and just about any other details of their trips, walks, bike rides and assorted wanderings. My Tracks    My Tracks Track your trip - with waypoints (left) and then upload to Google etc (right …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Eponymous Cowherd
    WTF?

I doubt.....

MyTracks has been around for ages and I doubt there is an Android user that isn't already aware of it, particularly the sort of tech-heads that frequent The Register.

And what's with the Buy from amazon.co.uk thing. I'm sure Ken Bruce is a great bloke, but he strikes me as more of an iPhone type.

1. Calum Morrison
      Thumb Up

I'm a tech-head who frequents the Reg

... and I'd been using MapMyRun's app for ages as it integrated well with their web site; because of this, I didn't need to look for anything else. Until now. MapMyRun's app has recently been upgraded to an unusable level (it's truly awful now and has the feel of a poor web site rather than an actual app; really really terrible) so this review has made me aware of an alternative. Thank you El Reg.

2. Anonymous John

Re The app can be set to announce your progress at certain intervals

Automated phone calls saying that you're on the phone can't be far away.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Alternatively

You could just ask Google.

4. Al Taylor
    Alert

@ Eponymous Cowherd

Fair comment but most of the reader requests we get are to feature apps that have been around for a while.

Agreed My Tracks is no spring chicken, but I've been using Android since the G1 came out and managed to completely overlook it until this March. I suspect I'm not alone. It's the downside of their now being a quarter of a million odd apps available in the Market.