back to article Pervasive encryption: Just say yes

In my day job as a sysadmin for a small business, and in my moonlighting as a freelance tech consultant, I get to do a lot of thinking about security. Ignorance of information security among small businesses is hardly news but in my experience many small businesses are only now getting the hang of securing their local PCs - …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Mage Silver badge
    Badgers

Cores?

Routers and ARM SoCs often have dedicated HW for cryptography. About 1/100th of cost and power consumption of using a "core".

Most people best to ignore Cloud blandishments.

2. James Cooke

You mean good encryption surely?

The article starts off with the attacker breaking the encryption that protects everything WEP + man in the middle to defeat the SSL. Does a HTTPS type connection really add 25% workload? Where's the evidence for that?

1. Ammaross Danan
      Boffin

Encryption Overhead + Stuff

Last I checked, full-disk encryption overhead for my work laptops is only about a 3% CPU bump, with a slight dip (about 4%) in disk throughput. Of course, that's using TrueCrypt. It could likely be worse with whatever garbage Trevor is pimping.

WEP is a VERY common wireless setup, even now. Most businesses haven't swapped out their wireless router since they bought it 5 years or more ago. Therefore, anyone comment of "they haven't sold a WEP router since 2006" is bullocks, as my wireless N router still supports WEP, and the fact that the business in the "example" likely /did/ buy their router circa 2006.