back to article Stuff string theory - try E8 to explain the universe

The mathematics that underlie the E8 Lie Group, a 248-dimensional puzzle that was finally solved in March this year, have already been put to use in developing a new Theory Of Everything. A representation of E8. Credit: Peter McMullen A representation of E8. Credit: John Stembridge, based on the work of Peter McMullen …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Red Bren
    Coat

And he can use a Spirograph?

So can I, can I have a PHD now?

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Um...

Okay hands up anyone who understood what that was all about?

Liars!

Sigh, I thought I had a decent grasp of pure mathematics until I started trying to read about Lie groups and realised that 30 years after A level pure maths, my brain seems to have ossified!

3. Anonymous Coward
    Boffin

the next great screensaver...

This crap is just as worthless as string theory. It's all just mathematical masturbation. Quantum physics is so full of errors in its fundamental theories, that have been compounded by all the other theories that rely on them, that nothing worthwhile will ever emerge. They need to quit looking for something new to make them famous and try admitting what is flawed and work on fixing it.

4. Kevin Campbell
    Coat

DOCTOR!

My brain hurts...

(you guys really need to consider a Python icon)

You can just imagine the following conversation:

"Dude! I was, like, TOTALLY hanging ten this morning and, check this out! The waves were bitchin', man, and I thought what if [begins ludicrously complex scientific theory]..."

"Wow, that's heavy dude. Maybe you should write that down or something."

5. Christos Georgiou
    Paris Hilton

If they're 248 dimensions...

...then probably the group should be called F8 rather than E8. (I won't add the necessary prefix to make it more obvious, although I just helped).

6. red floyd
    Joke

Gives new meaning...

To the term "Wave Mechanics"