back to article Fukushima situation as of Wednesday

The situation at the Fukushima Daiichi powerplant has worsened significantly as it becomes clear that one and possibly two reactors there have suffered a breach in primary containment, making the incident definitely the second worst nuclear accident yet seen. Nonetheless its human consequences seem certain to remain …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Anonymous Coward
    Pint

"realistic risks"

"if it was possible for the spent rods to restart a powerful reaction of the sort seen in a reactor core - which would make it very hard to cool them effectively in the storage pool - Edano stated that this is not a realistic risk."

Hey Mr Edano, didn't someone back when the plants were designed also claim that a tsunami over 6.5m wasn't a realistic risk?

If I were you, and bearing in mind that I'm a physicist and you're probably a politician, I'd choose my words a lot more carefully.

No sensible person these days believes anything coming from the nuclear lobby anyway, unless it can be independently confirmed. Serves them right.

As a physicist turned engineer, with a decade or two of experience around safety critical stuff, I do actually trust the underlying technology, and the basic engineering. On the other hand, history and personal experience means that I have no trust in the industry's management, especially the private sector profit-centred management. But without the motivation to keep costs down, nuclear is uneconomic. Square that circle if you can, dear reader.

Anyway, does anybody think Lewis really thinks he's doing the industry any favours with his coverage here?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Government statements