back to article Why your tech CV sucks

No, really. Your CV really, really stinks. I read these things for a living and the quality varies a lot more than it should considering what you are selling. Over the next few years you are asking to be paid more than the cost of a Ferrari and the desk space, computer kit and coffee you use over that time means you cost at …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"Yeah but people dont, alot of people dont, this is why he wrote the artical"

...And you are the type of person this article was written for.

Poor English, basic punctuation errors and spelling mistakes.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Formatting your CV

For many gov't positions in Canada, you paste your CV and covering letter into text boxes on a website. (The instructions state plain text only -- RTF will not display and may be rejected.)

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Dear Dominic...

... if you're a 'headhunter', why do you need my CV? You already know where I work and what I can do. That's why you're headhunting me.

Similarly, if you're a headhunter, why are you giving people recommendations regarding hiring managers and HR departments? You know, just like I do, that the only way to get the job you want is to bypass those very people. That's why you're headhunting me.

Ah, I get it. You're not really a headhunter at all. You're just a recruitment agent.

4. Why Not?
    Thumb Up

Unfortunately recruitment agents & HR are like bouncers

Bouncers take a few milliseconds to asses you. You might make Madonna & J-Lo look like a slouch on the dance floor and be able to teach Casanova a thing or two about making women happy. But if you wear scuffed shoes & out of fashion jeans and you don't get in to prove it.