back to article Windows 8.1: A bit square, sure, but WAIT! It has a Start button

Windows 8.1 adds a layer of polish to the previous release, Windows 8, and fixes various annoyances. But has Microsoft done enough to rescue its OS against a background of plummeting PC sales and unimpressed customers who want Windows 7 back? Discussion of Windows 8.1 tends to focus on the Start screen and revived Start button …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Levente Szileszky

Re: For the last time, baldie: NO START MENU = NO WIN8 ON MY NETWORK...

"Anyone constructing a multi site, multi tenant cloud environment - such as large service providers should consider it. "

Says who, MSFT internal PR docs?

Wake up, troll and semll the reality - NOBODY will ever build large networks on MS routing. Mark my word: NOBODY.

even if they ever did none apparently EVER touched it.

"I work as a cloud and infrastructure architect - not for MS. Here is a long list of what's new if you don't like the example cited: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn250019.aspx - a number of these features are simply not available on alternative platforms like Linux, or don't scale as well."

Ah yes, you are and independent infra architect who does not work for MS but recommends implementing MS-based routing...

...as one infrastructure architect to another let me be straight with you: no offense but are you high? Seriously.

"Google had a total Google Apps blackouts on a number of occasions."

Link, please.

I have a feeling you don't know what the word "total" means in English - or you just playing the good ol' BS game from MSFT's playbook when they try to boast their reliability percentage, conveniently leaving out the fact that their outages ARE WORLDWIDE, SYSTEMIC ONES, lasting for HOURS at every other occasion (yes, MS have a LOT MORE than anyone else in the business.)