back to article Apple frees iOS 4.3 two days before iPad 2 Arrival™

Apple has released the free iOS 4.3 update for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch, goosing Safari's JavaScript performance, adding a handful of new features (not available on all models), and providing a flurry of security updates, all two days before it's set to appear on the iPad 2. Cupertino also rolled out Xcode 4, the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Anonymous Coward
    Jobs Halo

XCode

$4.99 is not a lot of cash for a professional development environment. As it happens I'm a registered developer so it's $99 for me. I easily make that with the Apps that I develop with it.

Compare the price of MS development tools. No serious developer uses the free versions....

1. Charlie Clark Silver badge
      Jobs Horns

Not just for developers

Quite a lot of stuff on MacPorts requires xCode to build - anything that uses Coacoa I think. Obviously, we're not supposed to be using none-Jobsian tools, though I for one like up to date posix stuff (openssl, etc.).

USD 4.99 probably just covers billing for this so it's difficult to work out the logic behind it - just enough to piss people off so that the servers are not hammered or part of a more elaborate strategy around building up the garden walls. Are the days of `make install clean` on Mac OS numbered?

After banning other runtimes are other GUI toolkits next on the list for Mac OS X?

1. Ommerson
        Stop

The compilers are open source

The tool-chain itself is either GCC or Clang - both of which are open source. You can always go and get them the old-fashioned way.

Similarly MacOSX platform headers and libraries are where they always used to be - and where GCC and its ilk will be expecting them to find them, so you don't actually need to use the platform SDKs that come with XCode - but you won't be able to build for specific platform versions. This is probably fine for open sourcers.

2. Andy E
    FAIL

It's a disaster!