back to article AdBlock Plus: Open source for fun (not funds)

Even as open source has become big business, some of the world's most popular open-source projects remain labors of love for a growing body of developers. Such developers invest years of their lives writing code and fielding complaints from free riders, and they actually seem to like it. Or love it, in the case of the lead …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

Thumb Up

Dear Adblock Plus

You provided me with a way to cut the bandwidth costs for a charity.

Thank you

Happy

Contributing

I've been writing open source or Free Software for nearly 20 years. It's certainly not for the money! I'm not even sure if I like it to be my day job really. If you are doing it for yourself you can generally work on what interests you and to your own deadlines. There's the added bonus of no management either and for that I'd gladly forsake a salary.

Just doing it because I needed to for paying the mortgage and buying food would be sad. It's a hobby and earning a salary for it would make it like work.

Why?

If I am capable of changing something to make my life easier then I will. OSS is capable of being changed directly by me.

Silver badge

My reason.

My reason to contributing to F/OSS projects is always the same, "because I use it and I want a to use a better product." I suppose I could keep my changes to myself, but if they get included I don't have to patch the bug I hate every time they add a new feature I like (flip-flop those as nessicary).

So, scratch me up to "enlightened self-intrest."

Silver badge

I like adblock ABP but

my daughters use a horrible flash gaming site that insists on them watching adverts (for adult products - the games are for <10 year olds.????) before allowing them to play the games and its hammering my bandwidth. If it gets any wors I may have to interact with them!

Anonymous Coward

The below comment is more highfalutin' than this title.