back to article Photocops: Home Office concedes concern

The Home Office has at last conceded that the policing of photographers requires a little more scrutiny. Tory MP and Assistant Chief Whip John Randall extracted an admission from the Home Office that it was an issue in need of further review. Print Display worker Piers Mason can bear this out, having been stopped and …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Anonymous Coward
    Stop

Is this the REAL reason they don't want their pictures taken?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1168315/Caught-camera-The-moment-G20-bystander-flung-ground-police.html

Sorry to post a link to the Daily Mail but it's pretty damning and you can see why the police won't be happy about these pictures being taken.

2. Dick Emery
    Unhappy

The Police and Security are not the only ones

It's not just your local bobby or security jobsworth out to spoil photograpers fun either. I am new to photography (Well only the last few years). But in the last year or so I have encountered aggressive and beligerent doo gooder members of the public accusing me of being a pervert (In so many words) on at least 3 occasions.

"Oi! Did you just take a photo of my kids?"

"No? Why would I? Even if I did it's not against the law in a public space"

"Well don't! Or else!" etc.

Just last Saturday whilst out in a wooded area on a public foothpath I was accosted by a nutter with a big dog because I took a snapshot of a tyre swing behind a fence overgrown with foilage. Angrily he came marching up to me

"What do you wanna take a photo of that for?"

"That's my business" I replied.

There then ensued an argument with threats and cries of 'protecting the children' (Remember this was Saturday and not a child was to be seen anywhere and in fact we were the only two people there).

I ended up retreating mainly because we were alone (No witnesses), he had a big dog and I wanted my equipment to remain intact.