back to article 88% of IT admins would steal data if fired

An IT administrator scorned is not to be trusted, according to a study recently conducted by Cyber-Ark. The security firm claims a survey conducted on 300 security professionals found a whopping 88 per cent of IT admins would steal valuable and sensitive company information if they were fired tomorrow. Only 12 per cent said they …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

Flame

@mark

Greets Mark,

We may have met a few years ago at a SANS conference. You have an interesting suite of products. And I would like to say to you and all the other posters that you stats are probably correct. I have never left a company empty handed, whether that be a key for a spendy piece of software, or some clever bit of scripting I wrote, and don't want to have to re-invent elsewhere. That in of itself would put me on your list. However, I am a skilled unix admin and security professional, it is my job to see that the things I can do to your company can't be done by others. I consider all of an employers systems to be MY systems for the duration of my employment, and I treat them as such [properly operating and secured, etc]. All of my employers consider me to be trustworthy, and I have never given them cause to think otherwise, but I am a sysadmin and not to be trifled with, for thou art crunch and taste good with catsup ;)

I would have no problems with crushing those who deserve it. Not AC. I have nothing to fear.

Anonymous Coward

@nonsense and beyond

Buster, gosh look who has crawled out of a bad 1950's movie :)

I am guessing it was the bad odour comment that got you - perhaps that is why you are not seeing much skirt; Eau de Admin - population control in a bottle.

Seriously, most winows admin work is the one eyed man with a squint, who is serf to the numpties, in the land of the blind and deaf.

There is no reason for admins to have the password to secure encrypted data.