back to article Computers shouldn't smoke. Cigarettes aren't healthy for anyone

Welcome again to On-Call, our series in which readers share memories of nasty jobs they've been asked to do. On-Call usually appears on Friday, but Easter means nobody will be around to read it. So here we are on Thursday. This week, reader “George” tells us, “Many years ago I was a PC repair tech at a small computer store, …

Page:

1. David Roberts

New motherboard and memory?

Should have thrown in a case and PSU as well, given the overall cost.

Then just moved the HDD across.

Save all the time spent cleaning up.

1. DropBear

Re: New motherboard and memory?

Preferably one of those that have actual air filters installed...

1. jelabarre59

Preferably one of those that have actual air filters installed...

At one time I thought that should become standard equipment on all systems, then I realized a lot (most) users wouldn't ever think of checking/cleaning them. Leading to a lot *more* overheated power supplies and systems.

2. JimmyPage Silver badge
      Coat

I still have my grandfathers ax. I changed the shaft and my Dad changed the head .....

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. McShufts

Used to work at a certain second hand chain that rhymes with tex. You could always tell the chain smokers by the browny green gunk with a yellow tinge coming out of the fans. They always got arsey when you told them to go away and clean it.

3. chrishansenhome
    Mushroom

Keyboard hell