back to article Russian hacker, nabbed in Spain, cops 4+ years for Citadel botnet

Dimitry Belorossov – a Russian cyber-criminal who used the Citadel banking trojan – has been sentenced to four years and six months in a US prison after pleading guilty to conspiring to commit computer fraud. Belorossov, who was known by criminal associates as Rainerfox, was alleged to have operated a Citadel command and …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"who was arrested by US law enforcement partners"

I'm no expert but shouldn’t Interpol be handling cases like this? Not that I feel sorry for the guy, but is a nation sovereign if the USA can just waltz in and arrest anyone they please? Why do we have these extradition treaties at all with the USA when they can just pick up anyone they want in almost any place on earth? Team America World Police indeed.

1. ItsNotMe
      FAIL

Re: "who was arrested by US law enforcement partners"

"...but is a nation sovereign if the USA can just waltz in and arrest anyone they please?

Hey numbnuts...can you read?

It says "... arrested by US law enforcement partners in Spain during 2013 when attempting to board a flight back to Russia, and subsequently extradited to the US. NOT US law enforcement directly.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Perhaps there is a distinct possibility this article piqued your interest for all the wrong reasons? Worried? I would be.

I'm quite sure that Interpol and Spanish authorities were involved in the capture, in spite of your rush to damn the Americans. But then you didn't read the article through even though you quoted the statement that would have tipped you off.

If you commit a crime like this against US citizens, they are going to try very hard to find and capture you. Hopefully, they get all the "carders" out there just like they got this one.

Personally, dealing with these criminals is the only place where I could ever agree with Sharia law......

1. EJ