back to article Buffoon in 999 call: 'Cat ate my bacon and I want to press charges'

The West Yorkshire fuzz have released recordings of nuisance calls requesting a cat be arrested for eating a man's bacon and a complaint about a noisy washing machine, as well as a request to identify the actor in Magnum PI*. As reported by the Yorkshire Post, a man rang the police to complain about his girlfriend's cat eating …

Page:

1. msknight

You know...

I'm a small time fiction author ... and if I put this in a book,someone would find a way to care even less about my non-existant credibility.

1. Bob Vistakin
  2. frank ly

Too polite

"Right I'm very sorry sir but it's not a 999 emergency 'cause your girlfriend let the cat eat the bacon. I do apologise but it's not a police matter."

Try: "You're an idiot. Get off the line or we'll come and arrest you when we're not busy."

1. Red Bren

Re: Too polite

They should have told him to report it to the RSPCA. Cats can't digest pork, which is why you never see pork flavoured cat food. So this is an animal welfare issue...

1. Tom Wood

Maybe not. I like this explanation from here: http://www.theguardian.com/notesandqueries/query/0,5753,-18852,00.html

"Why are there no pork or other pigmeat cat food varieties? "

"I've always understood the reason to be that the pigmeat industry has a long-established method of disposing of its waste products. They call the result "sausages" - or, if you're lucky, "economy sausages". "

1. Tom 38
          Joke

Ahh, economy sausages - for when its hard to make both ends meat.

1. IsJustabloke
            Coat

That made me LOL and deserves more than the single poultry upvote I'm allowed to to give it

1. Martin
              Headmaster

...single poultry upvote ...

Upvoted by a chicken?

I think you mean "paltry".

But I agree with the sentiments.

1. VeganVegan

@ Martin: pun a lot?

2. x 7

"the single poultry upvote"

well, don't crow about it, me old cock

2. JulieM Silver badge