back to article Raised £350bn in crowdsourced funding? Tell me about it (not)

His Girl Friday, All The President’s Men, Pravda, Broadcast News... As a journalist, I ought to be thrilled by reading books and watching dramatisations about other journalists being journalists and generally going about doing their journalisming. Yet there are few things in popular media as forlorn as a journalist talking about …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

沖縄国際映画祭 日本語 メールニュース

Just for laughs... why on earth did Mr Dabbs subscribe to the Okinawa international film, festival Japanese language (they do have on in English) mailing list? Planning some holidays in the sun?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: 沖縄国際映画祭 日本語 メールニュース

I heard they are showing a bunch of Japanese classics, including

The Last Samurai

Black Rain

Rising Sun

1. tony2heads

rubbish

only good stuff from Japan was by Kurosawa - like Kagemusha or Seven Samurai

1. Paul Westerman
          Stop

But Miyazaki, surely?

2. Daedalus

The second and third words are respectively "Ni hon go", meaning "Japanese language" and "Me-Ru-Ni-Yu-Su", meaning unknown. Just in case this guy is having us on....

1. Daedalus

And indeed he is not. The first "word" is indeed to be found as the title of the Japanese Wikipedia article on said festival.

We will now contemplate the awesomeness of having readers of Reg, and Dabbsie in particular, who also read Japanese...

1. Steve the Cynic

"We will now contemplate the awesomeness of having readers of Reg, and Dabbsie in particular, who also read Japanese..."

Speak for yourself. I used Goggle Mistranslate...

EDIT: Although the fact that I recognised 日本語 as being "nihongo" / Japanese-language tipped me off that there was a faint aroma of rattus rattus in the wind...

1. Daedalus

@Cynic: very nice. Now I know what "May-Ru Ni-Yu-Su" is a mangling of.

1. xperroni

Now I know what "May-Ru Ni-Yu-Su" is a mangling of.