back to article Soon-to-be Facebook intern wins UK Cyber Security Challenge

A 19-year-old student was crowned the UK Cyber Security Champion after beating all comers over the course of a year-long competition that tested computer defence skills. Will Shackleton, a University of Cambridge student who develops mobile apps in his spare time, beat over 3,000 entrants and 41 fellow finalists to win the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Job Prospects

"...the majority of them are self-taught.."

and if we find out how they got so good, we'll extradite them.

2. Anonymous Blowhard

"KPMG said it was cutting back on its sponsorship of the UK government-backed Cyber Security Challenge back in January after concluding the puzzle-based focus of the competition is failing to attract the right kind of potential recruit into the infosec profession"

It seems to be attracting people who are good, but aren't just in it for the money; maybe this is an indicator of what KPMG thinks are the "right kind of potential recruit"?

Maybe KPMG aren't the "right kind of company"?

1. Mark 85

Or alternately, the people who go the competition are the best and brightest and looking for that adrenalin rush of stopping the 'big attack'. They probably aren't the ones that industry seems to want. Businesses seem to want people who are coming into the field to be excited about spending all day setting up user accounts and accesses. IOTW, boring jobs as the "exciting" stuff goes to the senior guys and gals.

1. oolor
        IT Angle

@Mark 85:

From the sounds of it, the kid has his head on right and is not the adrenalin type. That guy at the left in the pic, he, I would keep an eye on, but the kid and glasses beside him I would hire them just on that pic and knowing they were around at the end of the competition.

@ Anonymous Blowhard:

There is no maybe about it. But some follow-up studies should be done just in case...