back to article Adobe's revenge on Steve Jobs: HTML5

Despite significant investments from Microsoft, Google, and others, HTML5 remains not quite good enough for a range of apps. So says Mark Zuckerberg, but I also heard that this week from the chief technology officer of a large media company. Rather than gloat over HTML5's long road to native app parity, though, he fretted about …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

Flame

Oh no!

I really hope Adobe doesn't get to grips with HTML5. The last thing the world needs is Adobe continuing to inflict their cruddy software on it. It's just a shame that most people don't realise that the bloated heap of crap called Acrobat is not the only PDF tool about.

JDX
Gold badge

Re: Oh no!

It's just a shame that most people talking about Adobe's 'cruddy software' have never actually done any serious development in it. Flex/AS3 and Adobe's toolset for it is actually a really nice development setup, speaking as a programmer myself, and FAR more portable than HTML5 is going to be for a few years.

Also - how come we bash Adobe for being buggy and dangerous, but nearly all the exploits are Windows-only?

Anonymous Coward

If portable is your aim then Java is best. But every tool has its downsides.

> the bloated heap of crap called Acrobat is not the only PDF tool about.

Let me guess, you're a windows user? No-one running Mac OS X or and flavour of Linux uses the Adobe reader unless they accidentally installed it and haven't got round to disassociating PDF files with it.

Silver badge
Facepalm

"If portable is your aim then Java is best. But every tool has its downsides"