back to article Ten Linux apps you must install

Unless you are operating in the enterprise class, most Linux software is free, which is both a blessing and a hindrance. Sure, there are some truly fantastic apps out there, but all to often you have to wade through a mess of buggy unfinished projects with dependencies on other defunct code to get to what you want. To help with …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

Silver badge

I've been using Linux since mid-late 1993 (Slackware).

I don't use any of the above, nor do I see a need for any of them.

But then I grok what the command-line is for ... Glitter is an anathema to computing.

Silver badge

Re: I've been using Linux since mid-late 1993 (Slackware).

Same here (never used MS-Windows) and I still use DOS for many things. In fact DOS is great for doing web pages. BUT, when you have a long page with nested divs you might want to look at Kate. When you see the syntax highlighting you will be glad for the time saver. It's all very fine for us to brag about our command-line prowess, but there are uses for GUI tools too. By the way, what do you do when someone sends you a .doc or even a .docx file?

However...

If you're a fan of the command-line, then you should heartily approve of anything that fits the proper Unix computing model and interfaces with a command-line tool rather than reinventing the wheel -- hence ClamTk, GParted, LuckyBackup and SMPlayer. This sort of tool prevents coders from migrating away from command-line apps by keeping them relevant and accessible to all users.

And in fact this is our best weapon in the war against bloat: low coupling, high encapsulation, high reusability.

Silver badge

I grok Kate ... but I prefer vim. I mostly use my GUI of choice to run multiple xterms :-)

Re: Doc/Docx, I ignore them. Hasn't upset my business any.

Silver badge

I grok Kate ... but I prefer vim. I mostly use my GUI of choice to run multiple xterms :-)