Feeds

back to article Why your tech CV sucks

No, really. Your CV really, really stinks. I read these things for a living and the quality varies a lot more than it should considering what you are selling. Over the next few years you are asking to be paid more than the cost of a Ferrari and the desk space, computer kit and coffee you use over that time means you cost at …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

WTF?

What the hell is this guy on about?

This must have been the most irritating article I've ever read on on here.

Bronze badge

If you can't figure out what he is on about...

...then please don't apply to my company for work. He is telling you why less than a crisp, focused, professional CV doesn't cut the mustard. Y U No get it?

Recruiters!

Wanting you to do their job for them. I have never got a job via a recruiter. They aren't interested in you getting the job, just SOMEONE getting the job. This guy, while having some good points, misses the fact that Word is the de facto standard word processor in business and that you CAN TURN OFF SPELL CHECKING on your CV. Also, what does he want? An RTF? A PDF? He neglects to mention it. Still, he does spout a bit of common sense. If there's one thing I can't stand, it's people who don't check simple mistakes and bang on about their GCSEs like they were actually tricky exams that left them capable of doing things other than playing video games and drinking cheap cider.

Ok, no worries. I don't think I could work for someone who writes something like "Y U No get it?" on a public forum anyway.

What I was saying is that checking a CV for spelling mistakes is pretty basic stuff, most of it is. For example, why would you even consider highlighting a summer job more than a relevant job to the position you are applying?

Anonymous Coward

RE: If you can't figure out what he is on about...

"Y U No get it?"

He was also on about using good spelling...

Anonymous Coward

I think that's the point