back to article UK Supremes question vetting scheme

Britain's top judges have warned that new background checks to vet millions of adults for contact with children carry a "real risk" of infringing human rights and undermining public confidence in protection measures. The comments about the Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA) were made today as a nursery worker who lost …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Mr Templedene

So how long before

We see this new supreme court disbanded for daring to criticise?

I didn't see the point of them at first, but this seems to show I might have been wrong.

2. Michael Fremlins

I'm not a lawyer but...

I don't understand the logic.

"In future, "the police must give due weight..." That basically means it's OK for the plod to get it wrong once but not in future. If it's wrong from now, what has changed since yesterday?

Law. It's an ass.

3. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

She lost her job

because of an accusation?

Anyone got any information on how far this accusation has to go before it's on your record, i.e. say I claimed Gordon Brown had taken inappropriate photos including my daughter (you know, kids in the background of a holiday snap that he refused to delete) and reported this to the police.

Would they check that I had a daughter (actually, I don't)?

Would they get rid of it if I dropped the charge as a case of mistaken identity?

Would they do anything apart from write it down and add it to his record?

I guess it'd make no difference as there's almost certainly a get-out clause for politicians, as in most modern legislation. But it'd be interesting to know just how strong an accusation's evidence would have to be before it'd ruin your life.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Unhappy

No smoke without fire!