Feeds

back to article US special forces tool up with 'plasma blades'

America's top-secret elite commando forces have been field-testing a "plasma knife" - a handheld unit which generates a cutting "blade" of glowing ions. Disappointingly for any wouldbe kimono-clad combat mystics out there, the handheld energy cutlass isn't intended for hand to hand combat and can't be used for parrying directed- …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
Boffin

I'm not a doctor, but...

While bleeding to death is definitely not a good thing, surely not bleeding at a point of a cut isn't that great either?

Maybe I misunderstood, but if they're cutting people open to perform surgery, how are they intending to get the "wound" to heal? Seems like an infection nightmare...

Anonymous Coward

@Ian Yates

No you aren't a doctor...

RE: I'm not a doctor, but...

Basically the whole idea is that you cut them open to remove any foreign objects aka bullets, shards from shrapnel etc etc, using the plasma blade would make this job a hundred times easier than using a conventional scalpel (namely because the blood flow can hide it), if they aren't removed they get infected and well you know the rest.

H 5
Flame

Causterisation

Less bleeding during surgery means a surgeon can actually see what the hell hes doing, you need to get the blood out of the way - field medics are less liky to have equipment and qualified assisntants to swab and suction blood away.

As for infection , you;ve just nuked the bacteria with an effing plasma field. Can't get much more sterile than "consumed by fire".

The wound will heal because only a very thin layer of tissue is cauterised - theyre not BBQing the wound. Burns heal don't they?

Light-Saber Penknives ftw.

Coat

Solid snake

Now all they need is the OctoCamo suit...

Mine's the one with the Eastern European face camo enabled.

Alien

Honour, guide me....

Ah, a weapon after a Zealot's heart...

Anonymous Coward

For shame